Skip to main content

Breeders’ Cup Filly and Mare Sprint

The Breeder’s Cup Filly and Mare is a popular horse racing category for thoroughbred fillies and mares three years old and up. It was added to the horse racing series in 2007. The race differs from the traditional sprint distance which is six furlongs. The Filly and Mare Sprint is a seven-furlong weight for age stakes race running on a dirt course. Many punters, especially from North America love placing wagers on the event at US online gambling sites. Usually, the race is part of the ‘rolling daily double and pick three’ betting options. However, it has been featured in pick 4 and pick 6 sequences in some instances.

Best Breeders’ Cup Filly and Mare Betting Sites

Top Sites In America

What You’ll Find In Our Breeders’ Cup Filly and Mare Sprint Guide

Breeders’ Cup Filly and Mare Sprint Entries

The Breeder’s Cup Filly and Mare race is a specialised event which gives extra weight to fillies and mares that have, in the past, proven to be successful when competing at seven furlongs. Most horses that have been successful on the race are those that have been able to stalk, close or pounce, rather than just racing directly on the lead.

The sprint contest appeals to many horse racing fans as it consists of pure speed. More so, it gives a different dimension to handicappers when compared to the male horses’ Breeders Cup. Prior to and during the event, USA bettors place wagers for the race at online horse betting sites. You can find not only the best but also reliable sport betting sites here on our site. These highly recommended sportsbooks feature the best odds and bonuses on horse race events for USA punters. You can take advantage of welcome bonuses, refer-a-friend bonus or be part of the site’s loyalty or VIP program for even much better offers.

Check Out Our Other Breeders’ Cup Guides

Previous Winners: Breeders’ Cup Filly and Mare Sprint

Below are the previous winners of the Breeders Cup Filly and Mare Sprint run at +- 6 furlongs. The purse for all horse races was $1 000 000.

Year Winner AgeJockey 
2018Shamrock Rose3Irad Ortiz Jr.
2017Bar of Gold5Irad Ortiz Jr.
2016Finest City4Mike Smith
2015Wavell Avenue4Joel Rosario
2014Judy the Beauty5Mike Smith
2013Groupie Doll5Rajiv Maragh
2012Groupie Doll4Rajiv Maragh
2011Musical Romance4Juan Leyva
2010Dubai Majesty5Jamie Theriot
2009Informed Decision4Julien Leparoux
2008Ventura4Garrett Gomez
2007Maryfield6Elvis Trujillo
Our Score
Our Reader Score
[Total: 0 Average: 0]
Last Updated :