Skip to main content

Australian Open Odds 2020

top-australian-open-betting-oddsAustralian Open betting marks the beginning of the tennis Grand Slam betting season. With the tournament taking place in Melbourne in January each year, it is the first of the major tennis tournament to be played during a calendar cycle. The event has risen to be the second biggest tennis event in terms of audience, with many fans traveling from the United States to view the proceedings. The thrilling entertainment provided by the prestigious tournament is only amplified when bettors have placed a legally sanctioned wager on matches.

If you would like to learn more about Australian Open betting, keep on reading. Below we provide an overview of what you’ll need to know about betting on the prestigious tournament, including what to look for in Australian Open betting lines and more. Just as with other Grand Slam events, the best online gambling sites provide players with tennis betting offers on the Aus Open. So, read on and refine the way you look at wagering on this event.

Best Australian Open Sportsbooks

Looking for the best Australian Open tennis odds? Well, have a look at the top sports betting sites listed down below. Each is guaranteed to offer a great set of odds on matchups. In addition to this, they often run amazing Australian Open betting promotions.

What You’ll Find In Our Australian Open Betting Guide

Australian Open Overview

The Australian Open is one of the most exciting tournaments on the tennis calendar. As already mentioned; it is the first Grand Slam. More so, the event is a paradise for the betting community as bettors from around the world place wagers on matches. Overall, the tournament sees over 254 matches played across men’s and women’s draws.

The Format for the Tournament

Similar to other tennis events, in the Australian Open, players compete in women’s and men’s singles draws in a knockout format. Qualifying to partake in the tournament usually takes place a week prior to the event.  At least 96 players qualify to play in the tournament based on their nationality, ranking or by winning feeder events. The main draw consists of 16 players of each sex; totaling to 32 ranked players.

The prize package is usually set at $39 million. Each singles winner gets around $2 845 148 with the runners-up receiving $1.4M.

Popular Australian Open Betting Lines

The following wagering markets tend to be very popular at the US soccer betting sites with the best Australian Open betting offers:

  • Moneylines – also known as head-to-heads in tennis, these are bets made on a player to win a single match. This probably the most popular wager in Australian tennis betting.
  • Futures – these are bets made on a player to win the whole tournament some time before it is actually decided. They are by far the most lucrative types of bets available because they are so hard to predict. Make sure to shop around for Australian Open tennis outright odds before placing your future bet so that you can make the most money possible.
  • Totals – these are bets made on how many games will be played before a winner for the match is declared.
  • Spread Bets – these are bets made on a player to win a match by certain number of games. The whole point of the bet is to provide the favorite with a disadvantage so that online betting Australian Open odds are more lucrative.
  • Australian Open Courtside Betting – literally as the name suggests, this involves placing bets on the tournament at courtside. The whole idea is that you get ahead of an event’s televised delay and get to exploit better odds because of it.

Australian Open Odds Explained

So, the one thing US bettors need to keep in mind about AUS Open betting and the odds set on players is that in general a handful of players are always favored to win the tournament. Over the last decade, players like Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal have always been given the best odds for the men’s tournament, whereas in the women’s tournament, players like Serena Williams, Naomi Osaka and Ashleigh Barty have usually been common favorites.

The thing about professional tennis is that there are very few absolutely shocking results. This is especially true for the men’s singles Australian Open event. Over the last ten years, only two players ranked outside of the top three have won the tournament, and one occasion involved Roger Federer returning from injury.

The women’s singles event is less predictable and has seen a couple of new winners in recent years. If you’re looking to pull a sharp bet, we recommend having a good look at the competitors here as long shots are more likely to win this event. The last decade has seen seven different winners as opposed to only three in the men’s tournament. This makes determining Australian Open betting picks in this area very difficult.

The one thing you need to make sure you do before placing a wager is shop around for the best Australian Open winner betting odds. Online sportsbooks tend to be very competitive in this regard and you don’t want to miss out on any potential to make more cash. You will definitely be thinking about this if your Australian Open Betting predictions prove to be true.

Check out our other tennis betting guides:

Best Australian Open Betting Tips

When the Grand Slam tournament comes around, it seems like everybody and their grandmother has some Australian Open tennis betting tips. Well, we won’t claim our tips will lead to you making winning bets, but at the very least they’ll get you thinking more strategically about bets. So, before you place your wager, make sure you consider these ideas:

  • Consider the Turf – it is important to remember that the Australian Open is played on a hard court Plexicushion surface, which varies from those seen at other Grand Slam tournaments. Some players do perform better on certain surfaces. For example, Rafael Nadal is called the King of Clay because he has won the French Open a total of 12 times. However, he has only ever won the Australian Open once. Thus, he wouldn’t prove to be a very good bet.
  • Study Player Head-to-Head Histories – some players just know how to take advantage of others’ Achilles’ heel. One way in which we can learn which players are able to dominate others is looking at head-to-head stats. For example, Rafael Nadal is more likely to win against Roger Federer than he is against Novak Djokovic. However, Federer is more likely to pull out a win against Djokovic than Nadal.
  • Don’t Overvalue Warm-Up Matches – often there are situations in which a supposed up-and-coming star performs exceedingly well in warm-up events leading up to the tournament. However, it is important that bettors do not overvalue these results. While most of these players have good showings in warm-ups, very few of them actually go on to do well in the Australian Open.

In addition to all this, be sure to have a look at our Australian Open betting preview before the tournament takes place to get our latest predictions!


AU Open Previous Winners List

Below is a list of the last ten men’s and women’s singles winners in the Australian Open.

Last 10 Men’s Singles Winners

With the winners list below, it is very easy to see why only a handful of players only ever get considered Australian Open favorites in the men’s tournament.

2019Novak Djokovic
2018Roger Federer
2017Roger Federer
2016Novak Djokovic
2015Novak Djokovic
2014Stanislas Wawrinka
2013Novak Djokovic
2012Novak Djokovic
2011Novak Djokovic
2010Roger Federer

Last 10 Women’s Singles Winners

It really is the women’s singles event that makes Australian Open gambling very interesting and quite lucrative.

2019Naomi Osaka
2018Caroline Wozniacki
2017Serena Williams
2016Angelique Kerber
2015Serena Williams
2014Li Na
2013Victoria Azarenka
2012Victoria Azarenka
2011Kim Clijsters
2010Serena Williams


Last Updated :