Skip to main content

NHL Playoffs for Stanley Cup

The NHL Playoffs are the highlight of the hockey fans’ calendar. It goes without saying that such an event attracts premium betting action. The NHL playoffs trophy is the Stanley Cup and was originally instituted in 1927. The Stanley Cup NHL Playoffs has a rich history and if you are interested in betting you should probably immerse yourself in it. Knowing the historical statistics of the playoffs can help you get a good idea of what the profitable odds and betting trends are and make better bets at US online gambling sites.

 Place Bets on the NHL Playoffs Here

What You’ll Find In Our NHL Playoff Guide

NHL Playoffs Odds

So, you want to know what the odds of your chosen team winning the NHL Playoffs? there are a few things you should look at. For one the selection process of the NHL Playoffs. Eight teams from each of the conferences face off against each other for the NHL Playoffs Stanley Cup. Those eight teams battle it out at division level and conference level to play for the Stanley Cup. Therefore, gamblers looking to bet on the NHL Playoffs may not have an easy time betting on straight line bets where they have to pick an outright winner because t could be anyone’s game. However, if you are clued up on the NHL Playoff stats and general team performance statistics you can be strategic about which types of bets you choose at US sports betting sites.

NHL Stanley Cup Playoff Statistics

The Stanley Cup has been in existence for 100 years. So, we will look at the trend’s in the last 20 years of the NHL Playoffs. In the last 20 years the Stanley Cup has been won 7 times by the Eastern Conference teams. The other 13 times victories have been split amongst the Western Conference.

NHL Playoffs Winners

  1. 2017 and 2016 – Pittsburgh Penguins
  2. 2015 Detroit Red Wings
  3. 2014 LA Kings
  4. 2013 Chicago Blackhawks
  5. 2012 LA Kings
  6. 2011 Boston Bruins
  7. 2010 Chicago Blackhawks
  8. 2009 Pittsburgh Penguins
  9. 2008 Detroit Red Wings
  • 2007 Anaheim Ducks

Check out our other NHL guides:

NHL Playoffs Traditions

The NHL Playoffs for all its intensity has some quirky but fun traditions, or superstitions if you may, attached to it. One of the most interesting ones is the beard keeping. Teams and fans have been known not to shave off their beards until they are eliminated or win the Stanleyb Cup. This tradition is supposed to have originated from the New York islanders an NHL Eastern Conference’s Metropolitan division during the 1980s. At some point it was somewhat taboo to hoist the division championship trophies. The sentiment behind it was that the Stanley Cup is the ultimate trophy and should be the only one to be hoisted. However, a few teams have not upheld the superstations and interestingly enough five times where the trophies where hoisted the teams went on to win the NHL Playoffs.

Last Updated :